Music Industry Calling for "Blackout Tuesday" in Response to George Floyd Death
header-image

Numerous labels and artists are supporting "a day to disconnect from work and reconnect with our community."

The music industry is calling for a "Blackout Tuesday" in response to the death of George Floyd.

On Friday (May 29), less than a week after Floyd was suffocated by a Minneapolis police officer during an arrest, numerous music companies and artists began spreading a message on social media calling for “a day to disconnect from work and reconnect with our community" and “an urgent step of action to provoke accountability and change.”

"As gatekeepers of the culture, it's our responsibility to not only come together to celebrate the wins, but also hold each other up during loss," reads the statement, which is being circulated under the hashtag #TheShowMustBePaused.

The proposed blackout is set for Tuesday, June 2.

Among those reposting the message are Warner Music Group, Sony/ATV, Apple Music's Ebro Darden, BMG, former Hot 97 music programming director Karlie Hustle, British record label Dirty Hit and independent distributor EMPIRE.

"All of my shows are cancelled. I will air replays of conversations with community activists, politicians and revolutionary music," Darden captioned his post on Instagram.

Spotify also announced that it would be "blacking out" — and specially curating — specific playlists, podcasts and channels while encouraging employees to take part in the day; other music companies that have said they will participate include RCA Records and Epic Records, Republic Records, Def Jam, Capitol Records and Atlantic, among others.

Earlier this week, a video of Floyd's death surfaced showing Minneapolis police officer Derek Chauvin kneeling on the neck of Floyd for eight minutes. Chauvin was later charged with third-degree murder and manslaughter in the death of Floyd.

See more "Blackout Tuesday" social media posts below.

#TheShowMustBePaused

A post shared by ASCAP (@ascap) on

A post shared by Def Jam Recordings (@defjam) on

A post shared by Interscope Records (@interscope) on

A post shared by Sony Music (@sonymusic) on

A post shared by Columbia Records (@columbiarecords) on

GET UP, STAND UP STAND UP FOR YOUR RIGHTS GET UP, STAND UP DON’T GIVE UP THE FIGHT Island Records is standing up on JUNE 2ND in observance of BLACKOUT TUESDAY to support our employees, artists, colleagues friends and community. STAND UP AND FIGHT AGAINST racial injustice. We will not give up the fight. #TheShowMustBePaused #BlackLivesMatter More info to get involved: www.blacklivesmatter.com www.colorofchange.org www.gofundme.com/georgefloyd

A post shared by Island Records (@islandrecords) on

#blacklivesmatter #theshowmustbepaused

A post shared by Warner Records (@warnerrecords) on

BLACK LIVES MATTER. #THESHOWMUSTBEPAUSED

A post shared by Capitol Records (@capitolrecords) on

This must end. #WeUseOurVoices #TheShowMustBePaused (@nytchangster/@nytimes)

A post shared by Republic Records (@republicrecords) on

A post shared by Sony/ATV Music Publishing (@sonyatvmusicpub) on

#theshowmustbepaused (@nytimes)

A post shared by Glassnote Records (@glassnotemusic) on

#BlackLivesMatter #BlackoutTuesday #TheShowMustBePaused

A post shared by Paradigm Talent Agency (@paradigmtalentagency) on

AEG Presents will participate in Black Out Tuesday and commit to actively working to bring about positive change in America. We will stand against injustice. We will stand against silence. We will stand against oppression. We will stand with the Black community. #Theshowmustbepaused

A post shared by AEG Presents (@aegpresents) on

#TheShowMustBePaused

A post shared by RCA Records (@rcarecords) on

#TheShowMustBePaused

A post shared by Universal Music Publishing (@umpg) on

#TheShowMustBePaused

A post shared by epicrecords (@epicrecords) on

A post shared by Atlantic Records (@atlanticrecords) on

#theshowmustbepaused

A post shared by BMG US (@bmg_us) on

June 1, 3:11 p.m. Updated with Spotify and other companies' participation.

This story first appeared on Billboard.com

From: THR